This Week

Upcoming Events Calendars 

Latest Announcements

Alexey Nesvizhskii laboratory published in Nature Methods a novel bioinformatics method for data independent acquisition mass spectrometry (DIA-MS). DIA-MS is a promising new technology for analyzing complex proteomics samples, highlighted as a "Method to Watch" by Nature Methods in the "Method of the Year 2014" category. The work by Nesvizhskii lab will facilitate the adoption of DIA-MS by the proteomics community and should enable new applications of this technology in biological and translational research.

Dr. Scott Owens has been appointed the Director of the new Division of Quality and Health Improvement (DQHI).  The DQHI, with collaborative support from the University Hospital, the Faculty Group Practice, and the Department of Pathology, will join other clinical resources inside and outside the Department to change the experience of care.  Through innovative, multidisciplinary, quality and health improvement programs the focus will be on creating value for our patients, their families, and the providers we serve.

Gregory Dressler Ph.D. was elected as one of the 2014 fellows of the AAAS for his distinguished contributions to developmental biology and organogenesis, with particular emphasis on the kidney and the role of developmental mechanisms in kidney disease. The University Record

The Dean's Office in the Medical School has announced this year's recipients of the "League of Research Excellence" award.  Given to honor significant contributions to the research mission of the University of Michigan through exceptional investigation and scholarship, Pathology is fortunate to have four faculty members named to this group.  We congratulate Drs. Yali Dou, Eric Fearon, Jolanta Grembecka, and Celina Kleer  on their selection.   

The 13th Annual Pathology Research Symposium took place on Nov. 14, 2014 in the BSRB.  Organized by the department's Molecular and Cellular Pathology graduate students, the conference included scientific platform presentations and poster session and culminated with this year's keynote speaker, Dr. Jennifer Lippincott-Schwartz, PhD, of  the NIH.

The 2014 Dean's Awards' for exceptional accomplishments in the Medical School include two members from the Department of Pathology.  Dr. Yali Dou, Associate Professor of Pathology, will receive the Basic Science Research Award.  Mr. Martin Lawlor, Director, Division of Finance and Administration, will be honored as the Administrator of the Year.  Congratulations to both!

Dr. Peter A. Ward was recognized by the Society of Leukocyte Biology at their annual meeting in Salt Lake City with the Honorary Lifetime Award for Excellence in Leukocyte Biology Research, celebrating a career of over 50 years investigating immunity and inflammation.

The Department of Pathology will celebrate and welcome Dr. Charles A. Parkos, MD, PhD, the Carl V. Weller Professor and Chair in a reception held on Monday, October 27th, 4:30-6:30 pm at the Alumni Center.  Dr. Parkos is the seventh chairman of the Department of Pathology.  We hope you will be able to attend as we honor our seventh Chair of Pathology.

Dr. Thomas J. Giordano, MD, PhD, the project co-lead for The Cancer Genome Atlas Research Network, recently published findings that identify genetic markers of aggressive papillary thyroid carcinoma.  Published in Cell, this comprehensive analysis of a large cohort of 500 patients will improve the understanding of genetic drivers of thyroid cancer and consequently will have the potential to improve the classification and treatment of PTC, as well as offer new insights into the role that genetic modifications play in driving disease development.

The Department of Pathology and the U-M Medical School would like to welcome Dr. Charles A. Parkos, M.D., Ph.D., as the new Carl V. Weller Professor and Chair of the Department of Pathology. Click here to view the official press release.